Collective days off

The university can designate certain days as collective days off (Article 4.7 of the CAO NU), such as days falling between two public holidays (e.g. between Christmas and New Year’s Day) or the Friday following Ascension Day.


On collective days off, you take holiday leave for the number of hours on which you would normally work on those days. The university is allowed to designate up to seven collective days off per year, which it always does in consultation with employee representatives. There are some positions and departments at the university to which the collective days off do not apply. Each university negotiates its own compulsory holidays, in addition to the public holidays.